State Laws 

Visit our Sponsor


It's a good idea to know your local and state laws regarding fireworks before you light them off.  Each state has different fireworks laws, which may vary depending on what type of devices are considered to be "consumer fireworks" under state law.  Below is a map that shows the types of fireworks allowed in each state.  

Please be aware that the diagram below should only be used as a reference guideline, not as an exact definition of the individual laws.  Local counties and cities may further restrict the type of fireworks that can be used within areas of their jurisdiction, despite what the state laws may be.



= States that allow nearly all consumer fireworks (currently 21)

= States that allow "Safe and Sane" (non aerial) fireworks (currently 18)

= States that allow only sparklers or small novelties (currently 6)

= States that ban all consumer fireworks (currently 5)


For a more thorough description of a particular state's laws, click on one of the links below (requires Acrobat Reader):
(Documents courtesy of the American Pyrotechnics Association)

Alabama Hawaii Michigan New Mexico South Dakota
Alaska Idaho Delaware New York Tennessee
Arizona Illinois Minnesota North Carolina Texas
Arkansas Indiana Mississippi North Dakota Utah
California Iowa Missouri Ohio Vermont
Colorado Kansas Montana Oklahoma Virginia
Connecticut Kentucky Nebraska Oregon Washington
Delaware Louisiana Nevada Pennsylvania West Virginia
Florida Maine New Hampshire Rhode Island Wisconsin
Georgia Maryland New Jersey South Carolina Wyoming


Pyro Universe and all of its contents are 2001-2006 by Colin Bradley and may not be reproduced in any form without the permission of the author.  If you use information from Pyro Universe in a school report or project, you must include proper bibliographic citation.  By using the information on this page, you agree to the terms of the disclaimer.