PDA

View Full Version : Easy Match Pipe with Xmas paper and 2 sided tape

Capn57
July 30th, 2009, 02:10 PM
Easy Match Pipe with Xmas paper and 2 sided tape

I've been eagerly reading the fusing section. Especially the posts about homemade fusing like sticky match and match pipe. I've never used sticky before but I'm pretty familiar with paper match pipe. I read with interest all the different methods folks are using. I was pretty impressed with a couple of different machines for manufacturing sticky match, well done. However the homemade match pipe methods I've seen here sounded cumbersome at best. So I've been thinking of ways to make it a little easier for people like me, with only two hands. I had two ideas and tried them both, the first idea was 2-sided tape and the second was a glue stick. I tried the glue stick first. I went to the hall closet and grabbed a roll of Xmas wrapping paper, took it to the cutting board and cut off a 2 inch wide by 3 feet long strip with a razor knife and a straight edge. Then folded the strip in half the long way to form a crease in the paper. Then I took out the glue stick and applied a nice layer of glue to one side of the paper along the crease. I then applied BP to the strip of glue down one side of the paper and used my finger to even it out then poured the extra into a paper plate. I folded the strip in half along the crease and taped it shut with masking tape, closed one end and added a 3 or 4 inch piece of scrap green visco to the other end and taped it in place. Before I go any further I want to say I wasn't very pleased with the adherence of the BP to the glue stick adhesive, but I continued. I then took the completed semi flat tube and taped it to a scrap piece of pine strapping. Then right along the edge of the tape holding it to the wood I made six small holes spaced down the length of the tube with an ice pick and inserted six stubs of the same scrap green visco and taped them down to the wood. With this done I took